SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2017 – Latest UpToDate

Candidates who are going to register themselves for the CGL Exam 2017 need to be aware of two factors.

The registration will start from 11 March 2017 and exam will start from 17 June 2017.  Check more detail here about dates and other information.

Firstly, exam pattern and secondly, the maximum number of marks which every exam will contain. In this article, candidates would be getting an exhaustive discussion about the exam pattern of the SSC CGL exam 2017 along with other necessary information that counts during the exam.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2017

The whole exam for CGL is divided into three prominent segments, namely:

  • Tier I
  • Tier II
  • Computer Proficiency Test/Skill Test/Document Verification

SSC CGL Tier I Examination – 200 marks

The first barrier which the candidates are required to cross is the Tier I exam which takes place on a large scale level. The exam contains four section, each carrying 50 questions and 50 marks each. Candidate needs to solve as many questions as possible in the given duration of 120 minutes or 2 hours. The exam is of MCQ type where the candidates would be asked to choose the right answer from the give options. To sum up, the frame of the exam is similar to the given pattern:

Subject Total Questions Full Marks
Quantitative Aptitude 50 50
General Awareness 50 50
Intelligence and Reasoning 50 50
English Comprehension 50 50
Total 200 200

It should be noted that candidates who are visually impaired are given 40 minutes extra to solve the same paper.

SSC CGL Tier II Examination – 300 / 500 marks

After crossing the first barrier, candidates are required to sit for atleast two more papers. For candidates who have opted for the post of Statistical Investigator and Complier, they are required to give a total of 3 papers, which includes a paper on statistics. For some candidates, this tier is of 300 marks and for some 500 marks (depending on their application).

Subject Total Questions Full Marks
Quantitative aptitude 100 200
English Lang. & Comprehension 200 200
Statistics* 100 200

Computer Proficiency Test/Skill Test/ Document Verification

Once Tier I and Tier II have been cleared, the candidate needs to appear for computer proficiency test/skill test/document verification.

Skill Test

For candidates who have applied for the post of tax assistant (CEIT), they will need to clear the skill test where their typing speed would be determined. The data entry speed should be atleast 8, 000 key depressions in an hour.

Selection of a candidate will be made on the basis of cumulative score which was obtained in Tier I, Tier II and Personal Interview. Apart from basic cut offs, sectional cut offs would also apply to the candidates. In case of a tie, factors such as age of the candidate, performance in the interview, etc., would be taken into consideration. The decision made by the authority would be final and cannot be challenged under any circumstances.

The official notification for SSC CGL exam 2017 will be announced on 11 March 2017. You can check here later to download notification for 2017.

In the mean time you can download the official notification for exam 2016.

Download Official Notification

Recent Updates of SSC CGL Exam

UpdatesCheck Here
Update on 3-1-2017: Re-examination of Tier II 2016 exam on 12 January 2017 & 13 January 2017Check Here Notice
Update on 1-12-2016: SSC CGL Tier II 2016 exam cancelled (1-12-2016) on five examination venues because of some technical issues and malpractices. SSC will soon publish exam dates and centres.
Update on 18-11-2016: Uploading of Admission Certificate (CGLE 2016) Tier II Apply Online
Update on 9-11-2016: CGL Tier II Exam Notice for Examination Date and Time Check Here
Update on 9-11-2016: Clarification Regarding Result of CGLE 2016 (Tier-I) Check Here
Update on 8-11-2016: CGL (Tier I) Result Announced Check Here
Update on 3-11-2016: CGLE 2017 NoticeCheck Here
Update on 19-10-2016: Important Message of Chairman Check Here

SSC CGL Exam 2017 Important Pages

Particulars Visit Here
Preparation Tips Check Here
Results Check Here
Syllabus Check Here
Exam Pattern Check Here
Application Form Apply Online
Eligibility Criteria Check Here
Admit Card Check Here
SSC CGL Main Page Check Here
SSC Open Vacancies Check Here
SSC Calendar 2017 | 2018 Check Here