UPSC IAS Exam Eligibility Criteria 2016 – Latest UptoDate

The registration period of UPSC IAS Exam is almost on the verge of opening and interested candidates must be itching to know the required qualification so that they can enrol themselves for the exam at the earliest.

The Eligibility norms of UPSC IAS Exam 2016 are divided into 4 different categories:

  1. Nationality of the Candidate
  2. Age of the Candidate
  3. Educational Qualification of the Candidate
  4. Number of Attempts

1. Nationality of the Candidate

As per the official notification of UPSC IAS 2016, a candidate should be atleast one of the following:

  • A citizen of India;
  • A subject of Nepal;
  • A subject of Bhutan;
  • A person of Indian origin from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Zambia or any other East-African country / Indian sub-continent and intends to reside permanently in India;

2. Age of the Candidate

According to latest UPSC notification 2016, the date willl be considered as on 1st Aug, 2016.

Age is a crucial factor in this examination, but age can vary from person to person depending on their status. Here is the complete coverage along with relaxation offered to various candidates.

Category Age Limit
General Upto 32 years
OBC Upto 35 years
ST/ SC Upto 37 years
Physically Handicapped Upto 42 years (GEN)
Upto 45 years (OBC)
Upto 47 years (ST/ SC)

 3. Educational Qualification

As per the notification of UPSC IAS Department, every candidate who wishes to take part in the examination should have a degree from a recognized University. The definition of the ‘Recognized University’ should be in compliance with the official notification published by respective department.

There is also a good news for candidates who are in the final year of the bachelor’s program. They too can make an application for this exam provided they are waiting for their results or are recently going to give their final year’s exam.

4. Number of Attempts

There is one unusual eligibility criteria attached to this exam and that is the restriction in the number of attempts. Here is the detailed version of the same:

Category Number of Attempts
General 6
ST/ SC Unlimited
Physically Handicapped 9 (GEN & OBC)
Unlimited (ST/ SC)

Points to Note:

  • The UPSC IAS Exam is a three-tier exam where a candidate is required to clear 3 stages before he is selected for the job. The stage includes Preliminary Exam, Main Exam and Personal Interview.
  • The Preliminary Exam will be of 400 marks and will consist of 2 papers of 200 marks each.
  • Candidates who have cleared the Preliminary Exam will be called for Main Examination which consists of 1750 marks and 9 papers.
  • Successful candidates are then required to come for a personal interview which carries 275 marks.

The UPSC IAS Exam is one of the most popular Government Exams in India and has more than 40 million participating candidates. Each year thousands of candidates work hard to make their dream come true and be a part of the Government Machinery.

From our team, we wish you all the best for the UPSC IAS Exam 2016 and in case you need any assistance, feel free to ask us for the same. - Daily Govt Jobs Updates © 2017 About | Contact | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy